Phi Kappa Phi | Methodist College

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi installed its 353rd chapter at Methodist College in Peoria, Illinois, on March 29, 2019. Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. 

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 when Marcus L. Urann, a student, brought to his professor the idea of creating a different kind of honor society-one that recognized excellence in all academic disciplines. Today, the Society has chapters on more than 300 select campuses in the United States and the Philippines and inducts approximately 30,000 new members each year. Membership is by invitation only to the top 7.5 percent of juniors and the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students, along with faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

The Methodist College chapter initiated the first group of students on May 16. The group of initiates included 27 current students and two graduates.

Chapter 353 Officers

President - Dr. Eileen Setti, Dean of Arts and Sciences

President-Elect - Dr. Octavian Gabor, Professor of Philosophy

Secretary - Dr. Pam Ferguson, Dean of Nursing

Treasurer - Mr. Barry Soffietti, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration

Public Relations Officer - Ms. Michelle Nielsen Ott, Director of Library Services

Awards and Grants Coordinator - Ms. Melissa Williams, Center for Student Success Nursing Coordinator

Historian - Dr. Deborah Garrison, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Administrative Assistant - Ms. Jackie Lawson, Administrative Assistant to the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs


Adopt a Highway Clean-up

Members of Phi Kappa Phi and the larger Methodist College community gathered on October 2 , 2020 to clean-up a stretch of US 150 not far from the College.

Tableware Drive